The Carlo Alberto Medal

The Collegio has instituted the Carlo Alberto Medal to be awarded to a young Italian economist (resident in Italy or abroad) under the age of 40 for his/her outstanding research contributions to the field of Economics (broadly defined). Starting with the 2011 edition, the prize is biennial.

The recipient delivers the Carlo Alberto Medal Lecture and is nominated Honorary Fellow of the Collegio.


  • 2015: Guido Menzio (Associate Professor of Economics, University of Pennsylvania)
  • 2013: Veronica Guerrieri (Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business)
  • 2011: Oriana Bandiera (Professor of Economics, London School of Economics)
  • 2010: Fabio Maccheroni (Professor of Mathematical Economics, Università Bocconi)
  • 2009: Marco Battaglini (Professor of Economics, Princeton University)
  • 2008: Enrico Moretti (Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley)
  • 2007: Nicola Persico (Professor of Economics, New York University)


The prize represents the public recognition given to a young scholar for the scientific results attained. For young scholars at Italian universities, it provides a further incentive to pursue their research activity with renewed commitment. For Italian scholars who work at universities and research institutions abroad, the prize is a public recognition on the part of the country of origin.

Award Procedure

The prize is to be awarded to one person only. The award procedure consists of two phases:

Nomination: Economists of all nationalities are invited to submit their nominations. On average we receive over 350 submissions.

Selection: The Selection Committee chooses the recipient of the prize among the eligible nominees.

For the 2015 edition, the members of the selection committee are:

Paolo Ghirardato, Deputy Director for Economics and Statistics, coordinates the nomination process and the selection procedure.