

2023 Carlo Alberto Medal goes to Emanuele Colonnelli

Emanuele Colonnelli won the 2023 edition of the Carlo Alberto Medal.

Emanuele Colonnelli received his BA in Economics from the University of Siena in 2009, his MSc from Bocconi University in 2011, and his Ph.D. in Economics from Stanford University in 2018. Upon completing his doctorate, he took a job at the Booth School of Business of the University of Chicago, where he currently is Associate Professor of Finance. He is Faculty Research Fellow of the NBER, Research Affiliate of the CEPR. In the short time since completing his PhD, he has authored 8 papers in the top journals of both Economics and Finance.

Emanuele is a scholar working at the intersection of economics and finance. He spans the fields of political economy, development and corporate finance. He has studied how the behavior of firms, investors, and talent is affected by government, political, and societal forces, such as corruption, with a focus on emerging markets such as China and Brasil.

In the words of some of the scholars who nominated him: Emanuele "has established himself as one the leaders working at the intersection of development, finance and political economy," and "he has clearly established a strong series of papers that inform us on how politics is shaping governance of firms as well as other stakeholders." He is "very creative and broad," and he "has been exceptionally productive and his work in progress is equally promising." He has "a raw talent and ability at identifying central issues" obtaining important policy-relevant results, all of this "at break-neck speed, signaling his prodigious productivity. [...] An extremely worthy winner."

Established in 2007 by the Collegio Carlo Alberto, the Carlo Alberto Medal rewards an Italian scholar under the age of 40 for outstanding contributions to Economics. Past winners are Nicola Persico (NYU, 2007), Enrico Moretti (UC Berkeley, 2008), Marco Battaglini (Princeton, 2009), Fabio Maccheroni (Bocconi, 2010), Oriana Bandiera (LSE, 2011), Veronica Guerrieri (Chicago Booth, 2013), Guido Menzio (U. Pennsylvania, 2015), Alessandra Voena (Chicago, 2017), Matteo Maggiori (Harvard, 2019) and Stefano Giglio (Yale 2021). The winner is selected by a committee of distinguished scholars on the base of nominations submitted by economists throughout the world. This year, 28 nominations were submitted by more than 70 scholars. The Selection Committee for year 2023 was composed of: Marianne Bertrand (Chicago Booth), Darrel Duffie (Stanford), Lars Hansen (Chicago), Alessandro Lizzeri (NYU), Rosa Matzkin (UCLA), Stephen Morris (MIT) and Fabrizio Zilibotti (Yale).

The award ceremony will take place at the Collegio Carlo Alberto, as an event of the official program of the *Festival Internazionale dell'Economia* (Torino, May 30-June 2). On that occasion, Emanuele will deliver a Lecture titled "L'economia politica delle imprese" (The political economy of firms).



